The Ramones - End Of The Century (1980)

Posted By: Rehabilly
The Ramones - End Of The Century (1980)

The Ramones - End Of The Century
WV+CUE+LOG or mp3 CBR 320 (+ CBR256) | 34:12 min | 244 or 89 (65) MB
- Re-Ripped & Re-Scanned in March 2008 -

Road to Ruin found the Ramones stretching their signature sound to its limits; even though there were several fine moments, nearly all of them arrived when the group broke free from the suddenly restrictive loud-fast-hard formula of their first records. Considering that the Ramones did desire mainstream success and that they had a deep love for early '60s pop/rock, it's not surprising that they decided to shake loose the constrictions of their style by making an unabashed pop album, yet it was odd that Phil Spector produced End of the Century, because his painstaking working methods seemingly clashed with the Ramones' instinctual approach. However, the Ramones were always more clever than they appeared, so the matching actually worked better than it could have. Spector's detailed production helped bring "Rock 'n' Roll High School" and "Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?" to life, yet it also kept some of the punkier numbers in check. Even so, End of the Century is more enjoyable than its predecessor, since the record has stronger material, and in retrospect, it's one of their better records of the '80s.

~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, all music group

01. Do You Remember Rock 'N' Roll Radio?
02. I'm Affected
03. Danny Says
04. Chinese Rock
05. The Return Of Jackie And Judy
06. Let's Go
07. Baby, I Love You
08. I Can't Make It On Time
09. This Ain't Havana
10. Rock 'N' Roll High School
11. All The Way
12. High Risk Insurance

Produced by Phil Spector. Engineered by Boris Menart and Larry Levine
Recorded in L.A. at Gold Star Studios, Excalibur Studios, Devonshire Studios,
Salty Dog Studios and Original Sound Studios (May 1979)

• Joey Ramone – lead vocals
• Johnny Ramone – guitar
• Dee Dee Ramone – bass, backing vocals
• Marky Ramone – drums

* Barry Goldberg - piano and organ
* Steve Douglas - saxophone
* Sean Donahue - disc jockey on "1".

Original Release Date: February 4, 1980
Reissue Released: 1994
Format: Original Recording Reissued
Label: Sire Records
Catalog NO.: 6077-2