Soneros de Verdad Present : Leiva - Rubalcaba - Franck (2000)

Posted By: Ibiza
Soneros de Verdad Present : Leiva - Rubalcaba - Franck  (2000)

Soneros de Verdad Present : Leiva - Rubalcaba - Franck
Cuba | mp3 320 Kbps | 126 MB
Timba Records 2000

This album might have been made to jump on the Buena Vista Social Club bandwagon, but it's one of those rare imitations that takes on a life of its own. Singer Luis Frank, the mastermind behind it, is a young vocalist with a big voice and a love of the older music. And though, for the most part, these aren't old songs, but new ones dressed up in their father's clothing, they're beautifully presented and played, a trip through the culture of son, guajira, bolero, and trova. In addition to Frank, who takes lead on most of the songs, the spotlight falls on veteran singer Pio Leyva and tres virtuoso Juan de Marcos. But others do get their moment in the Cuban son – pianist Guillermo "Rubalcaba" Gonzalez unleashes a solo of truly stunning inventive genius on "Oguere," for example. And it's music that can work well without the backing of a full band, too; "Longina" is a gorgeous duet between Frank and de Marcos that works as much because of the interplay between voices as the playing. Ultimately, however, it's about the songs, and, whether new or old, they work. The vast majority of listeners won't know the difference between something written yesterday and a classic, and, really, it doesn't matter. The presentation and feel seem real, and the musicians invest everything with an authenticity that shows a love of and familiarity with the older styles and arrangements, like the muted trumpet of Daniel Alayoand the weathered, cracked vocal of Rudy Calzado on his bolero "La Mas Bella Cancion." And ending it all with more bravura playing from Gonzales is a master stroke, allowing his individuality another chance to shine, and shows him to be a true giant of the keyboard. But it's typical of an album that breaks all the rules of exploitation to become a work of art in its own right. ~ Chris Nickson, All Music Guide
01. Suave murmullo
02. Oye Ramon
03. Tumba La Cana
04. Descarga Jose
05. Piano y violin
06. Pio pio pa
07. Si Por Ti Vivo
08. Baila suave
09. Me falta un ano
10. Mambo.
11. Hoy la lluvia
12. Sonero de Verdad
13. El Manisero