Grateful Dead - So Many Roads (1999)

Posted By : Unknown | Date : 26 Sep 2008 01:36:00 | Comments : 3 |

Grateful Dead - So Many Roads 5 CD
Rock | MP3 256 kbps | Incl. 48 page booklet | 750 mb

So Many Roads (1965–1995) is a five disc boxed set by the band The Grateful Dead. Even though the collection is labeled a live album set, it also contains a number of tracks from the studio that were previously unreleased.

Deadhead collecting has come a long way. An experience that was once based in haphazard bootleg tape trading of complete single shows has graduated to this: a fancy, cloth-covered, lovingly annotated five-disc box set of live recordings, oddities, outtakes, and rehearsals spanning 30 years. The live cuts comprise the heart of this package, and they put you right in the thick of things, presenting the Dead in pure, undiluted fashion, warts and all. The Dead intelligentsia who produced the package--David Gans, Blair Jackson, and Steve Silberman--have boldly chosen the most interesting improvisations and most riveting examples of group synergy: the Dead at their least accessible, but most ambitious and compelling. There are moments where you'll cringe at off-key harmonies or flubbed chords, but there is always a payoff. At times, you can hear the band desperately struggle through the verses just to get to the jam, where redemption always awaits. Jerry Garcia's wounded off-key moans on a 1984 version of "Shakedown Street" eventually give way to a wonderful in-the-pocket funk workout; on a 1988 reading of "Playing in the Band," Bob Weir's botched lyrics are long forgotten when the band intensely teeters at far-off edges just moments later. The problem with this approach is that you lose context by considering performances outside of their natural environment--the specific concerts that spawned them--but this approach also opens up many options as well. For instance, there are sparkling fusion-based jams from the early 1970s, examples of Garcia sparring with Branford Marsalis and Bruce Hornsby in 1990, and an assortment of eye-opening transitional instrumental passages and impromptu creations. These moments of splendid spontaneity are what the band is all about. Welcome rarities include early recordings driven by Pigpen's searing blues harp; a pair of studio outtakes from the Dead's landmark 1970 sessions featuring acoustic instruments and lovely harmonies; Pigpen's R&B-flavored "Chinatown Shuffle" and an arresting version of Merle Haggard's "Sing Me Back Home" from 1972; keyboardist Brent Mydland leading the crew through the Meters' "Hey Pocky Way" in 1989; and Garcia launching into the Irish folk tune "Whiskey in the Jar" at a 1993 rehearsal, much to the delight of his bandmates. A few of the oddities offer only historical value and the final disc bogs down a bit by focusing on the Dead's newest unrecorded material, which, despite some worthy additions, can't match the intensity of the live cuts. For courageous newcomers, the amazing trajectory of the band is here to behold--from psychedelic blues and folk to free-form odysseys to country-rock to jazz and funk to gritty heavy rock. For those only familiar with the Dead's radio-friendly songs, this is the other side of the spectrum. --Marc Greilsamer


Disc 1

* Can't Come Down (Grateful Dead)
* Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks) (Grateful Dead)
* You Don't Have To Ask (Grateful Dead)
* On The Road Again (Traditional)
* Cream Puff War (Jerry Garcia)
* I Know You Rider (Traditional)
* The Same Thing (Willie Dixon)
* Dark Star> (Jerry Garcia / Phil Lesh / Ron McKernan / Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
* China Cat Sunflower> (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* The Eleven (Phil Lesh / Robert Hunter)
* Clementine (Phil Lesh / Robert Hunter)
* Mason's Children (Jerry Garcia / Bob Weir / Phil Lesh / Robert Hunter)
* To Lay Me Down (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)

Disc 2

* That's It For The Other One
Cryptical Envelopment (Jerry Garcia)
The Faster We Go The Rounder We Get (Bob Weir / Bill Kreutzmann)
Cryptical Envelopment (Jerry Garcia)
* Beautiful Jam (Grateful Dead)
* Chinatown Shuffle (Ron McKernan)
* Sing Me Back Home (Merle Haggard)
* Watkins Glen Soundcheck Jam (Grateful Dead)
* Dark Star Jam (Grateful Dead)
* Spanish Jam (Grateful Dead)
* U.S. Blues (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)

Disc 3

* Eyes Of The World (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* The Wheel (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Stella Blue (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Estimated Prophet (John Barlow / Bob Weir)
* The Music Never Stopped (John Barlow / Bob Weir)
* Shakedown Street (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)

Disc 4

* Cassidy (John Barlow / Bob Weir)
* Hey Pocky Way (Modeliste / Neville / Nocentelli / Porter)
* Believe It Or Not (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Playing In The Band (Mickey Hart / Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
* Gentlemen, Start Your Engines (John Barlow / Brent Mydland)
* Death Don't Have No Mercy (Rev. Gary Davis)
* Scarlet Begonias (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Fire On The Mountain (Mickey Hart / Robert Hunter)
* Bird Song (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Jam Out Of Terrapin (Grateful Dead)

Disc 5

* Terrapin Station (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Jam Out Of Foolish Heart (Grateful Dead)
* Way To Go Home (Bob Bralove / Vince Welnick / Robert Hunter)
* Liberty (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Lazy River Road (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Eternity (Willie Dixon / Rob Wasserman / Bob Weir)
* Jam Into Days Between (Grateful Dead)
* Days Between (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
* Whiskey In A Jar (Traditional)
* So Many Roads (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)


Posted By: Spanky2 Date: 29 Sep 2008 20:13:21
Thanks a lot!
Posted By: domaric Date: 27 Jan 2010 13:57:42
Can you up-load the links??? PLEASE! Thank You!
Posted By: domaric Date: 03 Feb 2010 20:23:54
At least the links for booklet?? TNX