Reckless Breed: Reckless Roots Rockers (2006)

Posted By: boonwell
Reckless Breed: Reckless Roots Rockers (2006)

Reckless Breed: Reckless Roots Rockers (2006)
'70s Dub | MP3 320 Kbps HQ | Covers | 74 MB

Before Lloyd "Bullwackie" Barnes made his move to New York, there to set up the legendary Wackies studio and label, he did some production work alongside fellow up-and-coming producers Jah Upton and Prince Douglas at King Tubby's studio in Jamaica. The material on this 1977 album was recorded there using the Soul Syndicate band in 1974 and 1975, and consists of dub versions of tracks originally credited to Reckless Breed, the Sylvesters, Don Carlos (credited here as Jah Carlos) and, inevitably, the Bullwackie's All Stars. The CD release comes as part of a slow flood of Wackie's reissues, and marks the first time most of this material has been issued on CD.

Those familiar with Barnes' creative yet roots-based production style will know exactly what to expect, but "Prepare Jah Man" (the Don Carlos showcase) is sure to surprise and delight even the most jaded roots collector, and dark and minimalist instrumental grooves like "Creation" and "Grand Slam" (the latter consisting of little other than drum'n'bass for extended sections) will be welcomed equally by those who just can't get enough of the dubwise '70s sound. (

01. Reckless Breed: Dub Full Of Girls
02. Reckless Breed: Under World
03. Sylvesters: Explosure
04. Reckless Breed: Roots Rockers
05. Reckless Breed: Chin Chow
06. Soul Syndicate: Reckless Roots
07. Jah Carlos: Prepare Jah Man
08. Reckless Breed: Grand Slam
09. Bullwackie All-Stars: City Line
10. Bullwackie All-Stars: Creation
Total time: 32:58