Lee Wiley - Manhattan Nights (1999)

Posted By: Ibiza
Lee Wiley - Manhattan Nights   (1999)

Lee Wiley - Manhattan Nights @ 320 | 4 CD | 622 MB |
Cuba | mp3 320 Kbps | 4 CD | 650 MB
Discoform 1999

Lee Wiley was born in Oklahoma in 19l5 and ran away from home at 15 to become a singer with jazz bands. She sang with the best of them, from Eddie Condon to Paul Whiteman and as a night club singer. She was featured on network radio and was a legend in her own time. Her husky, vibrant voice is charged with deep emotion and expression, as though each song was either written for her or she is making it up as she goes along. It is the voice of a woman recently jilted by the love of her life and is now singing songs in praise of love. Hackett's lyric cornet and Joe Bushkin's piano weave notes around her voice like a caress. This was probably recorded in the late 1940s, and is a terrific example of the genius that made jazz great. Save it for romantic late night listening. This is her best.
01. Take It From Me (I'm Taking To You)
02. Time On My Hands
03. Got The South In My Soul
04. You're An Old Smoothie
05. Leave These Reminders For You
06. A Tree Was A Tree
07. You've Got Me Crying Again
08. I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues
09. Let's Call It A Day
10. A Hundred Years From Today
11. Easy Come Easy Go
12. Repeal The Blues
13. Careless Love
14. Motherless Child
15. Hands Across The Table
16. I'll Follow My Secret Heart
17. What Is Love
18. I've Got You Under My Skin
19. Sweet And Low Down
20. Sam And Delilah
21. My One And Only
22. 's Wonderful

01. I've got a Crush on You
02. Someone to watch Over me
03. How Long has This been going on
04. But not for Me
05. Baby's awake Now
06. A Little Birdie Told Me so
07. I've got Five Dollars
08. You Took Advantage of Me
09. A Ship without a Sail
10. As Though You Were There
11. Glad to be Unhappy
12. Here In My Arms
13. Let's Fly Away
14. Let's Do it, Let's Fall in Love
15. Hot-House Rose
16. Find me a Primitive Man
17. Easy to Love
18. You Do Something to me
19. Looking at You
20. Why Shouldn't I
21. Down The Streamboat Tennessee
22. Sugar

01. Down With Love
02. Stormy Weather
03. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
04. I've Got The World On A String
05. Fun To Be Fooled
06. You Said It
07. Let's Fall In Love
08. Moanin' In The Morning
09. Wherever There's Love
10. The Man I Love
11. Someone To Watch Over Me
12. It's Only A Paper Moon
13. Body And Soul
14. Still Suits Me
15. Sugar
16. A Woman Alone With The Blues
17. But Not For Me
18. Memories Of You
19. You're So Indiff'rent
20. All I Remember Is You
21. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
22. You Leave Me Breathless
23. Stormy Weather
24. Manhattan

01. Manhattan
02. I've Got A Crush On You
03. A Ghost Of A Chance
04. Oh Look At Me Now
05. How Deep Is The Ocean
06. Time On My Hands
07. Street Of Dreams
08. A Woman's Intuition
09. Sugar
10. Any Time, Any Day, Anywhere
11. Soft Lights And Sweet Music
12. More Than You Know
13. Tea For Two
14. Sometimes I'm Happy
15. Rise 'n Shine
16. Should I Be Sweet
17. Keepin' Myself For You
18. Why Oh Why
19. Some Sunny Day
20. I Got Lost In His Arms
21. Heat Wave
22. Fools Fall In Love
23. How Many Times
24. Supper Time