In The Country - Sunset Sunrise (2013)

Posted By : mark70 | Date : 24 Feb 2013 10:08:51 | Comments : 1 |

In The Country - Sunset Sunrise (2013)
MP3 320 kbps CBR | 65:14 min | 145 MB
Genre: Jazz | Label: ACT Music

Pianist Morten Qvenild started the In The Country trio in 2003, with Roger Arntzen on the bass and Pal Hausken on the drums two fellow former students from the Oslo music academy. The trio played reams of concerts in over 20 countries over the last 13 years and has been awarded the Best Norwegian Young Jazz Artists in the mid 00´s. After four internationally renowned Norwegian albums, his ACT debut 'Sunset Sunrise' now proves that he has achieved a masterful reconciliation between tradition and experiment, between individuality and communal listening experience, between jazz and pop, in a way that has never been heard before. Even when Qvenild digitally distorts and extends the sound of the grand piano it's not because he wants to test the extremes. It all remains natural, grounded by a calm pulse and melodious despite all complexity. Qvenild is a master of reduction, who can carve out the kernel of a melody in elongated, dynamic, rhythmic and improvisatorial climaxes like few others and then transform that kernel into something completely new again.


1. Birch Song 8:08
2. Derrick 7:52
3. Stanley Park 10:43
4. Silverspring 6:28
5. Steelpants 6:02
6. The Fluke, A Whales Tail 7:12
7. Sunset Sunrise 10:55
8. December Song 7:56


Morten Qvenild - hyper grand piano, electronics;
Roger Arntzen - double bass, electronics;
Pål Hausken - drums, percussion, vibraphone, electronics.


Posted By: franciska11 Date: 24 Feb 2013 16:03:06
Thank you Mark! :)