Guapacha with Chucho Valdes and His Combo (2007)

Posted By: Ibiza
Guapacha with Chucho Valdes and His Combo  (2007)

Guapacha with Chucho Valdes and His Combo
Latin Jazz | mp3 320 Kbps | 97 MB
EGREM/Rumor Records 2007

A lost gem from Chucho Valdes' mid 60s career in Havana – a record cut with jazz vocalist Amada Borcela (Guapacha) – a singer with a very unusual sound! The style here is both different from other Cuban vocal albums of the time, and from some of Valdes' other albums from the same period – as Amada's singing really brings in a breezy, almost scatting sort of edge at times – pushing the record a bit towards bossa, although still obviously with strong Cuban roots! The group features Chucho on piano, Paquito D'Rivera on tenor, and other instrumentation that includes trombone, flute, bass, and piano. Titles include "Oye Rebeca", "Pudiera Ser", "Mi Existir", "Indestructible", "No Tiens Tema", and "Retozon". Also added to these tracks are 6 more bonus titles recorded the same year – featuring Chucho's combo with the larger group of Bebo Valdes – on titles that include "Quien Baila Mejor", "Por Regla", "Una Cierta Sonrisa", "Amor Eterno", and "Chachacha Bebop".
01. Medolia en abril
02. Oye Rebeca
03. Pudiera ser
04. El mozambiqueño
05. Retozon
06. No creo en ti
07. No tienes tema
08. Mi existir
09. Indestructible
10. Una cierta sonrisa
11. Por regla
12. Chachacha Bebop
13. Amor eterno
14. Cancion del alma
15. Quien baila mejor