The Congos - Heart Of The Congos

Posted By: boonwell
The Congos - Heart Of The Congos

The Congos - Heart Of The Congos (1977)
Reggae | MP3 320 Kbps HQ | Covers & booklet | 2 CD | 206 MB

Simply one of the best albums of all time! Vocalists Cedric Myton and Roy Johnson together with producer Lee Perry and a stellar cast of musicians and singers at the Black Ark in 1976/77 make music which transcends any category. Special 2-CD set contains the Congo's entire Black Ark output, including many previously unreleased full-length versions, plus rare 12 inch and dub mixes.

No reggae album more obscure than the Congos' Heart of the Congos is as rich, and no richer album is as obscure. The Congos were just a duo, airborne falsetto Cedric Myton and tenor Roydel Johnson, who got together in 1976 and approached old acquaintance Lee 'Scratch' Perry about recording an album at his Black Ark Studio. This was in a two-year period when Black Ark (along with King Tubby's) offered the most exciting, unpredictable facilities on the island and attracted top hands like guitarist Ernest Ranglin, organist Winston Wright, and percussionist Noel "Skully" Simms. During the sessions, unrepeatable chemistry resulted in Perry's finest production of a vocal group and a body of songs more vivid than anything else by the Congos.

Oddly, Island Records passed on The Heart of the Congos. Perry put it out under his own Black Ark insignia. Then the Congos released in themselves. The British Go-Feet label reissued it in 1980. It has popped up several other times, each edition muddy sounding, incomplete, or both. The handsome Blood and Fire reissue package gathers every snippet; vocal renditions and their dubs, extra Perry-Congos numbers and a second CD of 12-inch remixes. (Blood and Fire Records)

Tracklist cd 1:
01. Fisherman
02. Congoman
03. Open Up The Gate
04. Children Crying
05. La La Bam-Bam
06. Can't Come In
07. Sodom and Gomorrow
08. The Wrong Thing
09. Ark Of The Covenant
10. Solid Foundation
11. At The Feast
12. Nicodemus
Total time: 66:31

Tracklist cd 2:
01. Congoman (12" mix)
02. Congoman Chant
03. Bring The Mackaback
04. Noah Sugar Pan
05. Solid Foundation (Disco Cork Mix)
Total time: 26:04