Gretchen Peters - Blackbirds (2015)

Posted By: Pisulik
Gretchen Peters - Blackbirds (2015)

Gretchen Peters - Blackbirds (2015)
Country | MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 01:06:31 | 153 MB
Label: Proper Records | Release Year: 2015

Fresh from her induction into the prestigious Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, Gretchen Peters unveils her new album 'Blackbirds.' Co-produced with Doug Lancio and Barry Walsh and recorded in Nashville, the album features a who's who of modern American roots music: Jerry Douglas, Jason Isbell, Jimmy LaFave, Will Kimbrough, Kim Richey, Suzy Bogguss and more. But it's not the guests that make 'Blackbirds' the most poignant and moving album of the GRAMMY-nominee's storied career; it’s the impeccable craftsmanship, her ability to capture the kind of complex, conflicting, and overwhelming emotional moments we might otherwise try to hide and instead shine a light of truth and understanding onto them. In an atypical and unexpectedly rewarding move, Peters teamed with frequent tour-mate Ben Glover to co-write several tunes on the new album, which evokes the kind of 1970's folk rock of Neil Young, David Crosby, and Joni Mitchell that Peters grew up on, albeit with a more haunted, country-noir vibe simmering just below the surface. 'Blackbirds' follows Peters' 2012 album 'Hello Cruel World,' which NPR called "the album of her career" and Uncut said "establishes her as the natural successor to Lucinda Williams." If anything, though, 'Blackbirds' truly establishes Peters as a one-of-a-kind singer and songwriter, one in possession of a fearless and endlessly creative voice.


01. Blackbirds
02. Pretty Things
03. When All You Got Is a Hammer
04. Everything Falls Away
05. The House on Auburn Street
06. When You Comin' Home (feat. Jimmy LaFave)
07. Jubilee
08. Black Ribbons
09. Nashville
10. The Cure for the Pain
11. Blackbirds (Reprise)
12. If Heaven (Bonus Track)
13. The Secret of Life (Bonus Track)
14. On a Bus to St. Cloud (Bonus Track)
15. Independence Day (Bonus Track)